Skip to Gallatin Navigation Skip to Gallatin Main Content


Gallatin students are awarded a variety of prestigious national fellowships and awards every year. The links below will direct you to the programs’ Web sites, where you will find information about the fellowship and scholarships and how to apply.

Rhodes Scholarship

The Rhodes Scholarships are the oldest and most celebrated international fellowship awards in the world. Each year 32 young Americans are selected as Rhodes Scholars, through a decentralized process representing the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Applicants from more than 300 American colleges and universities have been selected as Rhodes Scholars. 


Zachary Fine (BA '15) was one of thirty-two Americans selected as a 2016 Rhodes Scholar. Rhodes Scholarships, the oldest and one of the most prestigious awards for international study, provide funding for all expenses for two or three years of post-graduate study at Oxford University. At Oxford, Fine will join a cohort of 89 scholars selected from around the world.

Marshall Scholarship

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the United Kingdom. Up to forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at an UK institution in any field of study.


Robert Clinton (BA ’16) will attend University College London as a Marshall Scholar. The Marshall Scholars program, which is funded by the British government, allows high-achieving scholars to undertake postgraduate studies in the UK program of their choice, with the goal of nurturing future leaders and strengthening British-American collaborations. The scholarship covers the cost of graduate study and living at a British university of the recipient’s choice for up to two years.

Fulbright Awards

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the US government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. It was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas and is sponsored by the United States Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Gallatin student awardees include:

  • Yagmur Akyurek, 2022
  • Julianna Bjorksten, 2022
  • Stephanie Holguin, 2022
  • Lachlan Hyatt, 2022
  • Mai Mageed, 2022
  • Saransh Desai-Chowdhry, 2021
  • Evan Neuhausen, 2021
  • Valerie Kipnis, 2021
  • Aine Nakamura, 2021
  • Valerie Tu, 2021
  • Lauren Stockmon Brown, 2020
  • Rebecca Karpen, 2020
  • Melody Xu, 2020
  • Lauren Stockmon Brown, 2020
  • Rebecca Karpen, 2020
  • Mary Kate Azcuy, 2020 
  • Bojana Coklyat, 2019
  • Jillian Castoro, 2019
  • Hannah Williams 2019
  • Alison Del Handel, 2018
  • John Leake, 2018
  • Madeleine Perlmutter, 2018
  • Jacqueline Hsia, 2016
  • Karina Altamirano, 2014
  • Martha O'Donovan, 2014
  • Tylea Simone Richard, 2013
  • Anna Duensing, 2013
  • Mitali Thakore, 2013
  • Rachel Hsiung, 2011
  • Aurelia Shrenker, 2011
  • Hudson McFann, 2010
  • Rachel Nussbaum, 2010
  • Matthew Dell, 2009
  • Neil Gong, 2009
  • Agam Neiman, 2009
  • Bretton Dimick, 2009
  • Max Holleran, 2008
  • Lily Liang, 2007
  • Larnies Bowen, 2007
  • Pouneh Aravand, 2007
  • Adina Matisoff, 2005
  • Brett Shere, 2005
  • Anna Drozdowski, 2004
  • Lee Douglas, 2004
  • Laurie Ross, 2004
  • Robin Pierson
  • Amy Guggenheim


Udall Scholars

The U.S. Congress established the Udall Foundation in 1992 to honor Morris K. Udall's 30 years of service in the U.S. House of Representatives. Scholarships are offered in three categories: students who are committed to careers related to the environment; Native American and Alaska Native students committed to careers related to tribal public policy; and Native American and Alaska Native students committed to Native health care.

There have been three Gallatin Udall Scholars since 2009, including:


Truman Scholars

The Truman Scholarship Foundation recognizes college juniors with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in government, the nonprofit or advocacy sectors, education or elsewhere in the public service; and to provide them with financial support for graduate study, leadership training, and fellowship with other students who are committed to making a difference through public service.

Olúwátọ̀nà “Tọ̀nà” Campbell, a 2020 Truman Scholar, is concentrating on politics and technology in order to understand the impact of Big Data and emerging technologies on marginalized people. His experiences within the fields of policy and social advocacy inspire him to fight against algorithmic bias, data misuse, and surveillance. 

Stephanie Baker, a 2010 Truman Scholar, took a semester off from Gallatin in 2008 to work as a field organizer for Barack Obama’s presidential campaign. She was an active member of the NYU Civic Team and studied human rights at Gallatin.

Humanity in Action Fellowship

Humanity in Action is an international educational organization that educates, inspires and connects a global network of students, young professionals and established leaders committed to promoting human rights, diversity and active citizenship—in their own communities and around the world. Separate programs take place for five weeks every summer in Amsterdam, Berlin, Copenhagen, Paris, and Warsaw. Previous awardees:

  • Anna Duensing, 2012
  • Isaac Rowlett, 2009

Fashion Scholarship Fund

The Fashion Scholarship Fund is a national not-for-profit association consisting of influential members of the fashion community, dedicated to promoting education of the fashion arts and business by granting scholarships to talented students and facilitating internships, mentorships and career programs. Previous awardees:

  • Benjamin Weinger, 2018
  • Morgan Spencer, 2016, 2017
  • Selly Djap, 2016
  • Jacquiline Sushan, 2015
  • Halle Waitkus, 2015
  • Thulasi Sivalingam, 2012
  • Allison Becker, 2012
  • Kimberlee M. Fuerth, 2012
  • Elizabeth Mantel, 2012
  • Genevieve Cenower, 2011
  • Sarah Ferguson, 2011
  • Celia Reingold, 2011

The Newington-Cropsey Award

In partnership with the Gallatin School, the Newington-Cropsey Foundation invites undergraduates as well as students in the masters program to apply for its annual fellowship for emerging artists and scholars. The fellowship gives students a unique opportunity to participate in seminars, study trips and public forums where they can present and develop their own work, while building crucial connections within the artistic and academic world. In addition to intellectual support, the fellowship includes access to the library at the Newington-Cropsey Academy of the Arts in Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, where fellows are assigned their own desk space. Previous awardees:

  • Andrew J. Marotta
  • Nicholas Morgan
  • Miriam Tobin
  • Desiree Mitton
  • Kwesi Cameron
  • Yadira De La Rivera
  • Marcus D. Harvey
  • Cornelius Jones, Jr.
  • Adina Wise Cyzar
  • Marasigan Arca II

Other select awards and fellowships, and their Gallatin recipients, include:

The NYC Urban Fellows (Christina Schuler, 2021-22)

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship (Sammy Tavassoli, 2022)

The Luce Scholars (Maame Boatemaa, 2021-22)

The Freeman-Asia Scholarship (Melanie Ehrlich, 2008)

The Schomburg-Mellon Humanities Summer Institute Fellow (Tamara Davidson, 2010)

The Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange Scholarship (Alysha Casnellie, 2011-2012)

The NYU Max Goldstein prize (Matt Nolin, 2009)

For more information about available fellowships and awards, please visit NYU’s Student National Scholarship Competitions page, or contact Gallatin Research Awards at